You Are Here: Home, History of the incas, Inca people

Custom Search within Peru Travel Confidential Website

Inca People

The Inca people have three levels of social status. First, the royal family, they were the sapan Inca or Inca king, his wife name Colla and his sons and daughters. The Incas have only kings, no queens. There were two types of royal families, the Hanan dynasty and the Hurin dynasty. The two families lineage are as old as the Inca Culture itself. Both families were in constant struggle for power.

The Inca people second level were the nobles call Panakas. They were two types of Panakas. First, the blood related nobles, they were sons and daughters of second Inca king wife's or Inca king concubines. Second the self-made nobles. They could earn the grade because special skills, bravery or dedicate service to the kingdom. For example, important Quipucamayocs (mayor accountants of our days), Amautas (masters of knowledge), brave Inca warriors and priest of the Inca Religion, may become Panakas.
  • 1
    • inca nobles
      The Inca nobles earn their status from their blood lineage.
  • 2
    • inca government workers
      The Inca government manages the kingdom throughout the religious authorities in each region.
  • 3
    • inca mitimaes
      The Mitimaes have only one purpose and it was colonize new territory.

The Inca people third level was the common citizen. They have four types of people. First the Hatunruna, which was a person that lives in farms with agriculture work, small communities and outside the cities. The second type is the Llactaruna, who is the person that lives inside the cities with works like metallurgy, textiles or pottery. The third type is the Mitimaes; they were professional colonizers. They were move into recently conquered cultures to help them to adapt easily into the Incas way of living.

The Inca people final type is the Yanaconas. These men, women and children were from tribes that make fierce resistance to the Incas empire. Most of the Yanaconas live and serve to the royal family and important authorities. The Yanacona status was a punishment for been resistant to the Inca Daily Life way of living. The Incas slavery practice was not common, there were rare occasions; but it happens mainly during the main Incas culture expansion.

The Inca people were organize as follows: On the top, the Inca king, under him 4 Apus that were the rulers of the four regions of the kingdom. Each Apu has another three sub Apus. The 16 men altogether were the Imperial Council. Each sub Apu have many leaders of 10,000 families call Huno camayocs. Each huno camayoc have 10 leaders of 1000 families call Huran camayoc. Each Huran camayoc have 10 leaders of 100 families call Pachaca camayoc. Then each Pachaca camayoc have 10 leaders of 10 families call Chunca camayoc. And the Ayllu or family leader; each Ayllu may have 150 to 600 people

The Inca people administration pyramid was difficult to keep. Imagine the Incas Society with teachers, architects, agriculture, mail service, hydraulics constructions, temples and religious people. Recollections of food, transport it, dry it and store it. Recollection of pottery, clothing, shoes, weapons. Investigators estimate that it was need it about 1331 government workers to administrate and control each 10,000 people.
  • 1
    • inca yanacona
      The Yanaconas were use as servants for the royal families; it was a life of slavery for them and their descendants.
  • 2
    • inca people
      The Inca education starts at an early stage in the life of the children.
  • 3
    • quipucamayoc
      The Quipucamayoc was an economy analyst and mathematician; the Quipu was his computer.

The Hatunrunas were the primary Inca people social class. Most of them dedicate their lives to farming. They use advance Inca Farming techniques, like the use of hillsides with terraces to improve the results and watering of the crops. Smaller groups of Hatunrunas dedicate their life to hunt the alpaca and dry their meat for easy transport and storage. The fur was use for textiles and the bones for common domestic utensils; nothing from this animal was waste.

The Inca people were docile and easy to manage people. They were the result of generations follow the: Ama Sua (do not steal), Ama Llulla (do not lie) and Ama Quella (do not be lazy). The laws were simple and effective. The Incas did not have prisons for the people that broken the laws, because they kill them immediately, no questions ask. They were merciless laws but allow the Incas to develop a grade of organization and discipline never seen before.

The Inca people was part of an estrange mixture of socialism, imperialism and generalize brainwash. They are difficult to catalog, because they only reach copper as stronger metal, so they should be qualify as a copper age civilization. But they achieve such great organization, technology and culture that have no comparison with any other culture in the world. So in witch category the Incas belong is still an open discussion.
Share |

Subscribe to our Newsletter




Don't worry -- your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you the Peru Travel Confidential Newsletter. See back issues.

SBI Video Tour!